What Should You Do After An Auto Accident?
- Help or get help for those injured in the accident
- Warn motorists (use hazard lights or flares)
- Call 911 to contact the police or Highway Patrol if any injury or death occurs
- Take notes on the accident: write down information about the other vehicle and driver, witnesses, passengers, accident location, date, and time, and so on.
- Take photos of the scene and vehicles involved, if possible
- Take photos of injured persons, if possible
- Cooperate fully with law officers, but speak with your insurance company or insurance agent and/or lawyer before accepting any blame
- Consult with a California Auto Accident Attorney as soon as possible.
California Auto Accident Report
Rules for when you need to report your auto accident are on the California DMV site.
Essentially, you need to report an auto accident when:
- an auto accident has resulted in damage to the property of any one person in excess of seven hundred fifty dollars ($750),
- an auto accident has caused anyone bodily injury,
- an auto accident has caused the death of any person
You need to report the accident, within 10 days after the accident, either personally or through an insurance agent, broker, or legal representative, on an accident report form approved by the departmentof motor vehicles. On the Accident Report form, the driver is asked to identify, by name and current residence address, if available, any person involved in the accident complaining of bodily injury.